Serial comms using UART - query

Coding and general discussion relating to the compiler

Moderators: David Barker, Jerry Messina

Aresby

Serial comms using UART - query

Post by Aresby » Fri Mar 16, 2012 10:17 am

Hi everyone, I'm new to Swordfish and pretty new at PIC programming although I've done a couple of simple PICAXE projects.

Now I'm using an AMICUS18 board, PICkit2 and Swordfish and it all handshakes just fine. The mandatory flashing LED program compiled, downloaded and ran just fine.

However, the lack of a Serout command has stumped me, as when trying to use the UART with a baud rate of 2400 to display stuff to my LCD module (complete with PICAXE driver chip) I just get garbage.

I've set the clock = 16 and the device = 18F25K20. I've set the baud rate to br2400.

The LCD module expects T2400N1 which I gather is the "default" parity/stop bit setting for the PIC18 series anyway when using the built in UART, hence why there are no options to change this in the Swordfish include file.

Any pointers as to what I need to do or what I'm doing wrong here?

(My next step is to use the Proton compiler with the Amicus just to prove I can actually communicate with the LCD using the standard Serout command available with Proton - but I really want to standardise on the Swordfish as it's closer to the dot.net environment I normally work in and a similar price.)

Any pointers gratefully received.
Aresby
Swordfish & PIC Newbie

Senacharim

Post by Senacharim » Fri Mar 16, 2012 3:00 pm

Tip 1: The code in the modules can be viewed. (This has cleared up many questions for me in the past.)

Tip 2: If need be, copy a module the the 'UserLibrary' directory and then modify the copy to your heart's content.

Tip 3: (This one's in the help file...) Specify a module by including the module's name. For example: Let's say I have 2 modules which both have a "send" function. Let's call them 'foo' and 'bar'. Like so:
foo.send() ' <-- calls the send function in the 'foo' module.