Constants and ASM

Coding and general discussion relating to the compiler

Moderators: David Barker, Jerry Messina

Post Reply
User avatar
Darrel Taylor
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 4:44 pm
Location: California

Constants and ASM

Post by Darrel Taylor » Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:42 am

I like the way Swordfish locates the variables and constants used in the asm and creates VARIABLE's that correspond with them. But I'm having problems with the constants.

For instance...

Code: Select all

Const 
    Aconst As Word = 500

ASM
  movlw  High(Aconst)
End ASM
Results in ...

Code: Select all

   VARIABLE ACONST = 244
  MOVLW  HIGH(ACONST)
Only the low byte get's passed.

I need to use 32 bit constants.

If I pass the 32-bit constant to a subroutine, it correctly places it in a temporary variable that can be accessed with ASM but I don't want to have to pass 4 or 5 constants as parameters if they can just be accesed easily.
Best regards,
DT

User avatar
David Barker
Swordfish Developer
Posts: 1214
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:01 pm
Location: Saltburn by the Sea, UK
Contact:

Post by David Barker » Fri Feb 02, 2007 1:30 pm

Yes, that doesn't look right. Drop me an email and I'll get a BETA to you that will fix the problem.

Post Reply