Font converter - non ASCII characters

Discuss the Integrated Development Environment (IDE)

Moderators: David Barker, Jerry Messina

Post Reply
blackcattech
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Chesterfield

Font converter - non ASCII characters

Post by blackcattech » Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:23 am

I'm working on a piece of software that needs to be able to display Chinese text. I was hoping to use the font converter to generate the bitmaps but there seems to be a bug in that it won't accept character numbers outside the normal ASCII range.

Chinese characters use two-byte values as there are several thousand of them.

If you try entering a range outside the normal 32-225 it doesn't even work out the matrix size properly.

Is there any way around this?

Also, is there any way to tell it to just convert one particular type - not sure what the correct term is - but just normal text, or bold or italic, but not all of them? I know it is easy enough to delete what you don't need but it would be nice to not convert them in the first place.

User avatar
David Barker
Swordfish Developer
Posts: 1194
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:01 pm
Location: Saltburn by the Sea, UK
Contact:

Post by David Barker » Wed Jul 03, 2013 11:16 am

> but there seems to be a bug in that it won't
> accept character numbers outside the normal ASCII range

It's not a bug, it is the way it is written and has a limited character range.

> Also, is there any way to tell it to just convert one particular type

No, you have to delete what you don't want.

blackcattech
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Chesterfield

Post by blackcattech » Wed Jul 03, 2013 11:21 am

Bug / limitation, different ways to say the same thing. There is a bug in the character size calculation when you enter a non-ASCII range.

Main thing, is there any way around it which will allow me to convert the characters I need?

User avatar
David Barker
Swordfish Developer
Posts: 1194
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:01 pm
Location: Saltburn by the Sea, UK
Contact:

Post by David Barker » Wed Jul 03, 2013 11:28 am

> Bug / limitation, different ways to say the same thing.

I'm afraid I disagree with you on that point.

> Main thing, is there any way around it which will
> allow me to convert the characters I need?

No

Jon Chandler
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 8:20 am
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Contact:

Post by Jon Chandler » Wed Jul 03, 2013 12:14 pm

David Barker wrote:> Bug / limitation, different ways to say the same thing.

I'm afraid I disagree with you on that point.

> Main thing, is there any way around it which will
> allow me to convert the characters I need?

No
Wow. This seems a little harsh to say the least. Maybe even bigoted?
Jon

Check out the TAP-28 PIC Application board at http://www.clever4hire.com/throwawaypic/

blackcattech
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Chesterfield

Post by blackcattech » Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:07 pm

Sorry, David, you are correct, it is an undocumented limitation.

Can anyone recommend a font converter program that I can use in place of the Swordfish ASCII converter to get at the characters I need?

User avatar
David Barker
Swordfish Developer
Posts: 1194
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:01 pm
Location: Saltburn by the Sea, UK
Contact:

Post by David Barker » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:25 pm

If this is for a commercial job and you are unable to find a third party product that meets your needs, I would be happy to extend the programs functionality at very reasonable rates.

Post Reply