MPLAB and ICD2

Discuss the Integrated Development Environment (IDE)

Moderators: David Barker, Jerry Messina

rockybooth
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:32 pm
Location: La Jolla

MPLAB and ICD2

Post by rockybooth » Tue Apr 10, 2007 8:51 pm

Hi All:

Presently I am working with Proton compiler. I use MPLAB as my editor and never load the IDE that came with Proton. I find that I can debug code at the assembly level using ICD2. Most of my development starts out with a PICDEM2 board or others in the Microchip family. I have two needs:

1. The Proton compiler was supplied with Crownhill files that facilitated using MPLAB and I would appreciate help in achieving the same results with Swordfish.

2. I have looked at the Swordfish IDE and may find that useful, so I will need to install ICD2 and would appreciate the entries necessary to add this programmer under the "Install New Programmer" section of the Swordfish IDE.

Thanks,
Rocky
rocky

User avatar
David Barker
Swordfish Developer
Posts: 1214
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:01 pm
Location: Saltburn by the Sea, UK
Contact:

Post by David Barker » Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:05 pm

The compiler will not integrate with MPLAB at the current time.

> appreciate the entries necessary to add this programmer
> under the "Install New Programmer" section of the Swordfish IDE.

What command line options does your programming software support?

rockybooth
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:32 pm
Location: La Jolla

Post by rockybooth » Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:42 pm

Let me know when you do have the integration with MPLAB. I will be sure to purchase the compiler at that time but we have many boards with programmer connecterization to match the ICD2 and have no desire to move to any other programmer.
rocky

TimB
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 7:25 am
Location: London UK

Post by TimB » Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:27 pm

You should be able to all with SF as you can with Proton in Mplabs. The only difference you cannot compile from with in Mplabs, you can still import files in though.

As for the ICD2 as Dave said what are the command lines for it. Perhaps you can point to a third party app that can control the ICD2 outside mplabs.

Alternatively look at the pickit2 it's an ICD and a programmer. Very reasonably priced and I think pin compatible with the ICD2.

lafleur
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 6:38 pm
Location: San Diego

Post by lafleur » Fri May 18, 2007 6:42 pm

Support for ICD2 is a must... if you want to be a real player in the PIC world....

dman776
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 3:59 pm
Location: Texas

Post by dman776 » Mon May 28, 2007 4:02 pm

I'll second that motion. ICD2 support (aka. MPLAB integration) is a MUST.

User avatar
blueroomelectronics
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Post by blueroomelectronics » Sat Jun 23, 2007 6:17 am

I'll third the motion, MPLAB integration is important. I'd like to recommend it as the compiler of choice for the 18F2525 used in the new Mongoose kit.
Image

dman776
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 3:59 pm
Location: Texas

Post by dman776 » Fri Jul 06, 2007 5:46 pm

any news/updates on MPLAB/ICD2 integration?
I'm chomping at the bit to make the switch from PBP! :-)

User avatar
David Barker
Swordfish Developer
Posts: 1214
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:01 pm
Location: Saltburn by the Sea, UK
Contact:

Post by David Barker » Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:26 pm

This is something I am looking at. However, I do have a little bit of work on the compiler which needs to be addressed first.

I very much hope to have a command line version of the compiler ready early August.

dman776
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 3:59 pm
Location: Texas

Post by dman776 » Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:29 pm

thanks David. That's great news. can't wait!

User avatar
octal
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: Paris IDF
Contact:

Post by octal » Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:38 pm

David Barker wrote: I very much hope to have a command line version of the compiler ready early August.

GREEEEEEEEAAAAAAAATTT NEWSSSSSSSSSSSS :) Thanks David

User avatar
David Barker
Swordfish Developer
Posts: 1214
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:01 pm
Location: Saltburn by the Sea, UK
Contact:

Post by David Barker » Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:27 am

I've posted a console (command line) based version of Swordfish which can be downloaded from here.

http://www.sfcompiler.co.uk/wiki/pmwiki ... User.MPLAB

It also contains some basic information on how to integrate Swordfish into MPLAB. Note that the console application is BETA. I have therefore taken the decision to just release the Special Edition (SE) version for the time being.

The good news is that the RAM limitation of the console version is now 256 bytes (rather than 200). The 256 RAM limit will become standard in future versions of the SE compiler.

I would greatly appreciated any feedback from anyone who has posted or shown an interest in this thread, regarding any of the above...

User avatar
octal
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: Paris IDF
Contact:

Post by octal » Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:42 am

Great David. I'll test it this night and will keep you informed.
Regards
Octal

User avatar
octal
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: Paris IDF
Contact:

Post by octal » Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:53 am

Hi David,
just a question before I test anything: Can we have a little info about what are the command line arguments (options) of the compiler? (for example to set the clock or the device)

Regards
Octal

User avatar
David Barker
Swordfish Developer
Posts: 1214
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:01 pm
Location: Saltburn by the Sea, UK
Contact:

Post by David Barker » Mon Jul 16, 2007 10:26 am

The command line arguments are pretty limited, basically to support MPLAB. Device and clock should be set in the main program block anyway...

swordfish.exe [filename] -p[device]

Post Reply